Tracker

B-CONTROL ROTARY BCR2000 Reviews

BCR2000

BCR2000

Total-Recall USB/MIDI Controller with 32 Illuminated Rotary Encoders

B-CONTROL ROTARY BCR2000 Reviews

3.8/5.0 based on 38 customer reviews

Reviews from the Press based on 1 reviews

  • from Dave
    January 27, 2011

    Very Capable Unit!

    I use this with Ambiloop (get it! it's free and it's awesome!) to control basic volume, pan, FX enable, FX send for all eight tracks, and I've recently changed from Energy-XT to Reaper for my DAW needs. I use a little NanoKontrol for Reaper's volume and pan, record-enable, etc and the BCR2000 for Bass, Mid, Treble, Mute, Solo, that kind of thing for eight tracks. The EQ is in a VST plugin so I can confirm that the unit can control VST parameters easily. It's a very welcome change from mousing all over the place and a great setup. I've saved my default project to load everything I need at startup and I go from there. Energy-XT (the free software from Behringer) (at the time of writing) seems to have taken a crap on itself regarding MIDI control (the official support forum is busy with complaints following a couple of recent "upgrades"), so I've switched completely from it, although version 2.5 had pretty good interaction with the BCR2000. Shame, because I'm a paying user. Oh well. I'm not going to try the Mackie emulation route (I understand it's a LOT easier with a BCF2000) and I don't really need any computer-to-BCR feedback - I have a controller so I'm not likely to be panning with the mouse so why would I expect the unit to respond? I got this for one-way communication and it's doing that very nicely. Overall it's earning its keep very happily in my little studio and I recommend it to all.

  • from m0de
    July 26, 2011

    Essential studio gear

    I got this to go with my Juno Alpha 1. It completely opened up the synth (the Alpha one has only one rotary knob). Setup was as easy as can be. This is one of the best purchase I've ever made for my studio. Who says you have to spend a ton of loot to get a good product. Behringer has done it again.

  • from Amazon Customer
    July 11, 2010

    Does a lot!

    I'm very happy with this device, it is highly programmable without any special software. It took about 5 minutes out-of-the-box for me to plug it into two different table top synths and start controlling hidden parameters on their sound, it really is easy if you're willing to read two manuals side-by-side to set it up. And usually one of the presets layouts is good enough for a starting point. It can also record and play back short MIDI commands allowing for even further flexibility. It can be configured to route USB to MIDI in different ways, I use it as my main MIDI controller with my laptop. I like the feel of the 24 rotaries on the bottom part of the unit the best, but the 8 rotaries on the top are push-button so they are more versatile. I think the things I would change on this device is make all the rotaries smooth feeling but also make them push buttons and provide a small character display instead of 7-segment LED display to ease programming. I would pay extra if they offered a unit in other color LEDs, like green, orange or blue.

  • from Ovid
    July 17, 2011

    Well made and very cool MIDI controller!

    I bought the Behringer BCR2000 to control the Korg iMS-20 analog synth program on my iPad. Let me say, that it works beautifully! I am so pleased with my purchase of the BCR2000! It was very easy to set up all the controls of the iMS-20 and the BCR2000 works flawlessly and delivers as promised. I am able to control every available setting of the iMS-20 application and it's very cool to turn an encoder on the BCR2000 and see the virtual knobs turning on the iMS-20 app on my iPad! I spent a lot of time thinking about the best configuration to use to mirror the iMS-20 on the BCR2000. Actually, the configuration of the encoders on the Behringer and the configuration of the virtual knobs on the iMS-20 are almost identical so I only needed to make a few modifications. I also set up a separate preset for the mixer which comes with the iMS-20. This process was made easier because the BCR2000 allows you to set up each encoder or button for any MIDI channel you like. In short, it's great to be able to turn a physical knob or push a physical button and control the iMS-20 just as though it were a physical device. AND I an control up to 32 devices in the same manner (the BCR2000 has that many presets.) If you have the need to control a MIDI device from an affordable, well-designed MIDI controller, get the BCR2000. You will thank yourself in the morning! ;)

  • from patrick marin
    June 04, 2014

    good buy

    No problems yet, i use it to control my synths it saves menu diving. Manual i bit vague but found a good tutorial on YouTube. Works as described looks good too.

  • from derrick scaife
    September 03, 2013

    great product

    this equipment is great for all purposes when it comes to studio programs and definitely when it comes to using vst plugins

  • from Mikael E Jorgensen
    December 04, 2015

    this set of 16 endless rotary encoders and more is super flexible and functional

    I never thought I'd buy a new Behringer anything, but for making electronic music, this set of 16 endless rotary encoders and more is super flexible and functional.

  • from Erling Valur Ingason
    March 31, 2014

    So many buttons, so much mapping!

    I love this thing. People underestimate this product by miles. It's one of the few midi controllers out there in this price range.

  • from Peter Wiley
    June 08, 2013

    Versatile and quality

    I bought the BCR2k to send sysex messages to my Alpha Juno. Works like a charm! Very easy to use, and rather nice quality -- even considering it's made by behringer!

  • from Renato Soto
    August 16, 2012

    Perfect partner for Apple Motion!

    This is a fantastic unit if you're using Apple Motion. 32 knobs gives you 32 control points when animating characters or producing motion graphics. Just about limitless control. perfect price point. [...]

Reviews from the Press

Turn a Behringer BCR2000 into a standalone sequencer...

Submit your review

characters left.
Please verify that you are not a robot.
* Please fill all required fields