Tracker

U-CONTROL UCA222 Reviews

UCA222

UCA222

Ultra-Low Latency 2 In/2 Out USB Audio Interface with Digital Output

U-CONTROL UCA222 Reviews

4.2/5.0 based on 527 customer reviews

  • from jcurtman
    May 19, 2012

    Great value for this radio producer

    I produce a weekly radio program. I purchased this item so I could do interviews at remote locations and possibly broadcast from other locations. Several weeks ago I bought a podcasting mixer for twice the price and I hated it - too much hiss. Not this little baby. I plugged it into my Crate mixer and I was impressed on how well it worked. Love it. It comes with a basket load of software that I won't use but serious musicians might. I just love the fact that I cut digitally record on my netbook straight from my mixer.

  • from Lawrence H. Bulk
    January 28, 2013

    An Excellent Digital-to-Analog Converter

    I have read most of the reviews concerning the excellent Behringer UCA222 U-Control Ultra-Low Latency 2 In/2 Out USB Audio Interface with Digital Output And Downloadable Software Bundle and the equally excellent Behringer UCA202 Audio Interface and I have seen several questions asked repeatedly. While I cannot truly add anything to the fine reviews already written, as an owner of both models, I may be able to answer definitively certain of these common questions. 1) Will it work with my computer? Yes it will if your computer has USB 2.0 or 3.0 ports. While I believe it will also work with older computers which have only USB 1.1 ports, I have not tried it with such so I cannot comment about that older port (which has not been offered for about ten years now). The USB port supplies all necessary power to these devices; no external power is necessary (nor can external power be applied). 2) Will it work with my operating system? Yes it will. My older '202 (purchased several years ago) states it is compatible with Windows XP and Mac. My newer '222 (which I just purchased last week) states it is compatible with Windows XP, Windows 7, and Mac. In actual fact, as it requires no external drivers of any kind, it is compatible with ALL operating systems; I use a GNU/Linux OS (Xubuntu) on my computer and both work perfectly with it. 3) Does it come with software? Well, Behringer's instructions state that a free CD is included. It is not. But you can download some software from Behringer's site; this software may or may not work with your computer but this really does not matter. Suitable free software is readily available all over the web. If you use a GNU/Linux OS, you need only enter "Digital Audio" into the search box of the Ubuntu Software Center or, preferably, into the Synaptic Package Manager's search box. There you'll find plenty of software which works with Linux (more software than anybody would ever need!). 4) Can you monitor sound as it is being recorded? Yes, using headphones, you can, choosing to listen either directly from the USB output or from the RCA inputs; there is a small switch which makes the adjustment between the two. 5) Is there a digital output? Yes there is, an optical one. If your equipment has only a coaxial digital input, optical-to-coaxial converters are readily available at low cost (Amazon sells several). Note that the optical output transmits only two-channel sound; there is no provision for Dolby or DTS multi-channel. 6) Is there any difference between the two units, the UCA222 and the UCA202? Yes there is. The UCA222 is red in color with a red LED. The UCA202 is silver in color with a green LED. You buy either of these units based on a) price at the time you order one, and b) color preference (if any). THAT'S IT! Color is the ONLY difference between these units. The circuitry is identical and so is the operation and performance. Please note that these are strictly 16-bit / [up to] 48 kHz units. They WILL play back 24-bit 192 kHz files but they will convert them down to 16-bit 48 kHz. Will you hear a difference? That depends upon a) the equipment you're using and b) the sensitivity of your hearing. Remember that, if you're playing CDs or files made from CDs, they are 16-bit 44.1 kHz only so that's all you'll hear regardless of the DAC you use. I use these devices for travel. They are lightweight and robustly built. $30.00 (approximately) is a true bargain for something of this quality. The sound produced is superior to the sound supplied from your computer's headphone output and that improvement can be heard by anybody. I hope that I have touched on some salient points. If anyone has any questions, please feel free to ask them in the Comments section. I highly recommend these Behringer Digital-to-Analog USB devices. Thank you for reading this. Lawrence H. Bulk

  • from Amazon Customer
    February 28, 2013

    works in a virtual machine

    I'm using this for a Windows machine running in a virtualbox on a Linux host. Awesome! I can play tunes from iTunes on Windows and there is no crackling as there was when trying to use the host audio system. I'm quite pleased.

  • from MadMiguel
    February 15, 2010

    Every musician should own this!

    This works great out of the box.I like to record my guitar riff ideas directly to computer and I bounce between 3 computers in my house.The cool thing about this is that you can plug your floor processor into this using an 8mm to 2RCA male Y-splitter.I used Audacity to do all my recordings, but you can use Window's sound recorder too. Can't figure out how to add to Audacity with the included software. Wish I would have bought the basic adapter w/o the software. Software is TOO complex to use for the casual user.I love how you can plug this in to any Windows computer's USB port, instead of trying to figure out which 8mm hole you put your headphone jack wire into. I haven't tried it, but this would be great in recording audio cassette tapes to a PC.Its "extra awesome" that it has a headphone jack included!

  • from henram36
    July 22, 2016

    I'm using Traktion and it easily and immediately recognizes the U-Control as a CODEC device

    You certainly can't go wrong for a sub $30 interface. Currently, I'm using this as a 3rd usb input to my DAW. I'm using Traktion and it easily and immediately recognizes the U-Control as a CODEC device. There's some latency in the recording of live instruments, but I've figured out how to offset this in Traktion. As my 3rd input, it's being used mostly for my headphone monitoring and works well for this purpose. If nothing else, it's a massive upgrade from most sound cards included in Windows computers. I would buy it again if something went wrong with it, but so far after a couple months of use, it's performing flawlessly. Behringer products are some of the best you can get...for the money. I've bought several of their stompboxes and direct boxes and only have had trouble with 1 or 2 of these. Behringer audio products are always worth a close look for the budget-minded artist.

  • from Kez
    July 05, 2013

    I've used this thing for over 2 years now and still use it today!

    It's definitely a great tool to have for a laptop music studio. It reduces cpu load a lot and sound quality is nice and clear. This device is amazing to combat latency on windows computers. ASIO4ALL is nice but it doesn't allow you to have multiple programs use the sound driver like this device does. Only thing is I wish it had was more than one output.

  • from Electrice
    December 15, 2013

    The bonus hidden value of BOTH the UCA222 and UCA202

    I'm writing this review to clarify some things for people interested in either the UCA222 or the UCA202. I Got my UCA222 free with my UMX490 controller, and as other people have mentioned it comes with Energy XT 2.5 Behringer edition. Which is a semi unlocked version of Energy XT, a 32 bit Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) that allows for up to 8 tracks of recording. While this is bundled on the included CD, what a lot of people may not know is that as of May 1 of 2013 if you register this unit you will get sent an activation code for a full version of Tracktion 4 which is a 64 bit DAW for Windows and Mac, and is not limited like the bundled version of Energy XT. Tracktion 4 in my opinion is so worth registering your UCA222 for as it normally sells standalone for $60 or double the price of this unit, and in my opinion is truly an amazing DAW. Now regarding this and the UCA202. I just obtained a used UMX61 at a bargain price (under $50) for a friend, but it was missing the UCA202 unit. I was originally going to pick up a UCA222 to go with so my friend could have access to both Energy XT 2.5 and Tracktion 4, but when I went into my local dealer they only had the UCA202 in stock. Out of curiosity I wanted to look inside the box at what the bundled software was, and low and behold it had Energy XT2.5 bundled with it. So apparently some of the newer versions of the UCA202 also included Energy XT 2.5. I didn't purchase the unit on the spot because I wasn't sure if the UCA202 qualified for the fee copy of Tracktion 4; however, I've since visited the Behringer website, and indeed the UCA202 is listed as a qualifying product for Tracktion 4. Which is excellent, because this means my friends keyboard and breakout box will match in colors. So in conclusion the only major difference between the UCA202 and the UCA222 now seems to be the color you want to get, because both apparently can have Tracktion 4 a $60 bonus DAW for simply registering the product.

  • from freud
    June 09, 2015

    Decent quality of sound

    Good sound for this money (30$). Much better than onboard audio and MUCH better than pieces of junk like smakn x5 DAC (15$) and Signstek mini 24bit 192khz (30$), that I bought to compare with Behringer. Tried with CAL! and Sony mdr-v6 headphones, and Yamaha ns-6490 speakers. Recommended.

  • from K. Hales
    July 24, 2014

    Super Product!!

    I was really impressed how this device worked with our sound system. We have a Stagepas 350 from Yamaha and I just routed the monitor out to our new USB controller. We also use Audacity on Linux Mint and the system instantly recognizes the device as a USB sound device. Having a headphone out jack on the UCA222 is nice because you can monitor the sound directly.

  • from Angel Salazar
    May 15, 2016

    It's like music to my ears..literally.

    I use this as an ad-on soundcard for a Lenovo W520 since the on-board sound is barely so-so. The sound of this card through Sony MDR-V7506 cans is outstanding compared to the laptop sound card. I use it for listening to music and also for watching movies and the imaging is so good that sometimes I even get scared while watching horror movies at night with this card. It's that good. Strunz and Farah's guitar music sounds absolutely sparkly through this card! I did a lot of research on online forums about add-on sound cards before I decided on this specific card. I recommend that you do the same. But, as far as I have been able to find on online forums and reviews this card represents the most bang that you can possibly for an extremely low price-point. It's entirely possible to get higher end sound cards to can sample at a higher rate and have a lower sound floor, but, you are going to find yourself shelling out a lot more money for not much more performance Try it out and you will not be disappointed.

Submit your review

characters left.
Please verify that you are not a robot.
* Please fill all required fields